Contemporary management of headaches in physiotherapy

Training for liberal and salaried physiotherapists

engin-akyurt-44D6S-5jDJQ-unsplash.jpg

The understanding of headaches and the pathophysiology of the chronicization of its symptoms has evolved in the light of the literature and therefore conditions the use of valid and reliable evaluation to guide the patient towards the most suitable treatment. Knowledge of pain modulation, the evaluation of headache chronicization factors and the triage of patients using a multidisciplinary approach (physiotherapy and drug treatment) must be mastered to enable patients with headaches to receive treatment. the most suitable for improving their symptoms, function and quality of life.

Price: 546 €

Headache is a clinical symptom and is one of the most common nervous system conditions in the population. It is a painful and disabling manifestation that can be triggered by a primary cause (migraine, tension headache, cluster headache, etc.) or secondary (vascular, infectious, traumatic, medicated, etc.). This symptom is a frequent reason for consultation in general medicine and is also a frequent reason for going to the emergency room. Globally, the estimated prevalence of headache in adults is around 70% (painful episode experienced at least once a year). Varying considerably from one region of the world to another, headaches are however considered a public health issue in terms of disability and financial cost to society. The main financial impact is the loss of working hours and the drop in productivity. The global study of the burden of disease, in 2016 classified headaches as a whole as the 2nd cause responsible for years living with the symptom. Headaches impact all aspects of the patient's life (personal and professional) and contribute to strongly modifying behaviors such as the constant apprehension of the next painful episode.

Primary headaches (migraine and tension headache among others) are the most prevalent in the population and their diagnoses are based on precise interrogation criteria of the International Classification of Headaches with a normal clinical examination not justifying additional examinations.

Secondary headaches have multiple etiologies and require diagnostic confirmation based on a clinical examination and depending on the case of additional investigations (such as cerebral and cervical CT scan, cerebral magnetic resonance imaging, etc.). The so-called cervicogenic secondary headaches, according to international criteria, are to be related to a cervical musculoskeletal disorder whose identification by a neurologist may be difficult. Indeed, this type of headache is presented by a hemicrânia +/- associated with neck pain and sometimes dizziness.

The understanding of headaches and the pathophysiology of the chronicization of its symptoms has evolved in the light of the literature and therefore conditions the use of valid and reliable evaluation to guide the patient towards the most suitable treatment. Knowledge of pain modulation, the evaluation of headache chronicization factors and the triage of patients using a multidisciplinary approach (physiotherapy and drug treatment) must be mastered to enable patients with headaches to receive treatment. the most suitable for improving their symptoms, function and quality of life.

 

educational goals

 

  1. To be able to carry out an in-depth examination of the patient presenting a headache and / or facial pain with regard to the criteria of the International Classification of Headaches

  2. Be able to sort patients based on the differential diagnosis and their clinical picture and recognize situations when specialist advice is needed

  3. Define the mechanisms of action and the interest of pharmacological treatment according to the clinical picture of the patient treated in physiotherapy

  4. Knowing how to recognize clinical situations involving the use of a doctor to request a complementary examination (imaging, lumbar puncture, etc.)

  5. To know how to carry out a clinical examination adapted to formulate clinical hypotheses with a view to planning treatment

  6. Apply the therapeutic strategies most suited to the patient according to the type of headache and facial pain he presents

  7. Be able to reassess patients to define the appropriateness of the proposed treatment

 

List of target audiences

 

Training aimed at liberal and salaried physiotherapists.

 

Prerequisites

 

There is no other prerequisite to register for this training than to be a professional in one of the targeted professions.

 

Duration of training and organizational arrangements

 

Duration of training: 14 hours

Over 2 days

Max workforce: 20 people

Accessibility: disabled

Training content

 

Day 1 :

9:00-9:15: Welcome and pre-training questionnaire

9:15-10:45: Introduction and pathophysiology of headache and facial pain

15 minutes break

11am-12pm : Pharmacology applied to physical therapy

12h-12h30 : Organization and care pathway for headache management

12h30-14h : Lunch break

14h-15h45 : Interrogatory and differential diagnosis of headache and facial pain - 1st part

15 minutes break

16h-17h15 : Interrogatory and differential diagnosis of headache and facial pain - 2nd part

17h15-18h : Clinical examination and physiotherapy diagnosis - 1st part

End of the first day 18h

Day 2 :

8:30-11:15am: Clinical examination and kinesitherapy diagnosis - Part 2

15 minutes break

11h30-12h30 : Case resolution workshop based on pathological patient files

12h30-14h : Lunch break

2-4:30 pm : Treatment planning and therapeutic strategies

15 minute break

16h45-17h45 : Physiotherapy treatment

17h45-18h : End of course Q&A and post-training questionnaire

End of the second day 18h

Anthony Demont is a part-time freelance physiotherapist in Paris with specific care for chronic painful pathologies, particularly headaches, in collaboration with several hospital services specializing in headache management. He is currently a PhD student at the Faculty of Medicine of the University of Paris with the subject of evaluating direct access to physiotherapy for patients with musculoskeletal pathologies. He is also a contractual teacher at the University of Orleans on the management of cervical pathologies and headaches and associated and the use of assessment tools in musculoskeletal rehabilitation such as ultrasound.

He has participated in the writing of several articles for scientific journals on the management of headaches in physiotherapy. He has frequently presented oral communications on this topic for learned medical and physiotherapy societies.

He is a member of the Société Française d'Etudes des Migraines et Céphalées and Deputy Treasurer of the Hôpital-Ville Fight against Pain Network in Ile-de-France.

 

Financement

DPC : Validé (Kinésithérapeute, médecin)  -  N° Action de DPC 2022 : 99MJ2200010

FIFPL : En attente de validation (Formation susceptible d'être prise en charge, sous réserve des budgets annuels) pour les kinésithérapeutes, les ostéopathes.

Pour connaitre les montants annuels de prise en charge FIFPL pour votre profession, cliquez ici :    FIFPL

Pour connaitre les montants annuels de prise en charge DPC pour votre profession, cliquez ici :      DPC

Informations générales

 

Lieu de la formation, horaires, conditions d'accès, hébergements, restauration  : consultez le     Livret d'accueil stagiaire

Prise en charge contemporaine des céphalées en kinésithérapie

Formation destinée aux kinésithérapeutes libéraux et salariés

La compréhension des céphalées et de la physiopathologie de la chronicisation de ses symptômes a évolué au regard de la littérature et conditionne donc l’utilisation d’évaluation valide et fiable pour orienter le patient vers le traitement le plus adapté. Les connaissances sur la modulation de la douleur, l’évaluation des facteurs de chronicisation des céphalées et le triage des patients à partir d’une approche multidisciplinaire (traitements kinésithérapique et médicamenteux) doivent être maîtrisés pour permettre aux patients présentant des céphalées de recevoir le traitement le plus adapté permettant l’amélioration de leurs symptômes, de leur fonction et de leur qualité de vie.

4 et 5 février 2022 - Bordeaux

Tarif :  546€

Les céphalées sont un symptôme clinique et comptent parmi les affections du système nerveux les plus répandues dans la population. Il s’agit d’une manifestation douloureuse et invalidante pouvant être déclenchée par une cause primaire (migraine, céphalée de tension, algie vasculaire de la face...) ou secondaire (vasculaire, infectieux, traumatique, médicamenteux..). Ce symptôme constitue un motif fréquent de consultation en cabinet de médecine générale et est également un motif fréquent de recours aux urgences. A l’échelle mondiale, la prévalence estimée des céphalées chez l’adulte est d’environ 70 % (épisode douloureux ressentie au moins une fois dans l’année). Variant considérablement d’une région du monde à une autre, les céphalées sont toutefois considérées comme un enjeu de santé publique en termes d’incapacité et de coût financier pour la société. L’impact financier principal est la perte d’heures de travail et la baisse de productivité. L’étude mondiale de la charge de morbidité, classe en 2016 les céphalées dans leur ensemble comme 2ème cause responsable d’années vivant avec le symptôme. Les céphalées impactent l’ensemble des dimensions de la vie du patient (personnelle et professionnelle) et contribuent à fortement modifier les comportements telle que l’appréhension constante du prochain épisode douloureux.

Les céphalées primaires (migraine et céphalée de tension entre autres) sont les plus prévalentes dans la population et leurs diagnostics reposent sur des critères précis d’interrogatoire de la Classification Internationale de Céphalées avec un examen clinique normal ne justifiant pas d’examens complémentaires.

Les céphalées secondaires sont d’étiologies multiples et nécessitent une confirmation diagnostique basée sur un examen clinique et selon les cas d’explorations complémentaires (comme le scanner cérébral et cervical, imagerie par résonance magnétique cérébrale...). Les céphalées secondaires dites cervicogéniques, selon les critères internationaux, sont à rapporter à une affection musculosquelettique cervicale dont l’identification par un neurologue peut être difficile. En effet, ce type de céphalée se présente par une hémicrânie +/- associée à une cervicalgie et parfois des sensations vertigineuses.

La compréhension des céphalées et de la physiopathologie de la chronicisation de ses symptômes a évolué au regard de la littérature et conditionne donc l’utilisation d’évaluation valide et fiable pour orienter le patient vers le traitement le plus adapté. Les connaissances sur la modulation de la douleur, l’évaluation des facteurs de chronicisation des céphalées et le triage des patients à partir d’une approche multidisciplinaire (traitements kinésithérapique et médicamenteux) doivent être maîtrisés pour permettre aux patients présentant des céphalées de recevoir le traitement le plus adapté permettant l’amélioration de leurs symptômes, de leur fonction et de leur qualité de vie.

 

Objectifs pédagogiques

 

  1. Être en mesure de réaliser un interrogatoire approfondi du patient présentant une céphalée et/ou une douleur faciale au regard des critères de la Classification Internationale des Céphalées

  2. Être capable de trier les patients à partir du diagnostic différentiel et de leur tableau clinique et reconnaître les situations lorsque l’avis d’un spécialiste est nécessaire

  3. Définir les mécanismes d’action et l’intérêt du traitement pharmacologique en fonction du tableau clinique du patient pris en charge en kinésithérapie

  4. Savoir reconnaître les situations cliniques impliquant le recours à un médecin pour la demande d’un examen complémentaire (imagerie, ponction lombaire, etc...)

  5. Savoir réaliser un examen clinique adapté pour la formulation d’hypothèses cliniques en vue de la planification du traitement

  6. Appliquer les stratégies thérapeutiques les plus adaptées au patient selon la forme de céphalées et de douleurs faciales qu’il présente

  7. Être en mesure de réévaluer les patients pour définir la pertinence du traitement proposé

 

Liste des publics cibles

 

Formation qui s’adresse aux kinésithérapeutes libéraux et salariés. 

 

Pré-requis

 

Il n’y a pas d’autre pré-requis pour s’inscrire à cette formation que d’être professionnel dans l’une des professions ciblées

 

Durée de la formation et modalités d’organisation 

 

La durée de la formation : 14 heures

Sur 2 journées

Effectif max : 20 pers

Accessibilité : situation de handicap

Contenu de la formation

 

Jour  1 :

 

Jour 2 :

 

 

 

Anthony Demont est un kinésithérapeute travaillant à temps partiel en libéral à Paris et ayant une prise en charge spécifique des pathologies douloureuses chroniques dont particulièrement les céphalées en collaboration avec plusieurs services hospitaliers spécialisés dans la prise en charge des céphalées. Il est actuellement Doctorant à la Faculté de Médecine de l’Université de Paris avec pour sujet l’évaluation de l’accès direct à la kinésithérapie pour les patients présentant des pathologies musculosquelettiques. Il est aussi enseignant contractuel auprès de l’Université d’Orléans sur la prise en charge des pathologies cervicales et des céphalées et associées et l'utilisation d'outils d'évaluation en rééducation musculosquelettique comme l'échographie.

Il a participé à la rédaction de plusieurs articles pour des revues scientifiques sur la prise en charge des céphalées en kinésithérapie. Il a présenté fréquemment des communications orales sur ce thème pour des sociétés savantes médicales et kinésithérapiques.

Il est membre de la Société Française d’Etudes des Migraines et Céphalées et Trésorier adjoint du Réseau Hôpital-Ville Lutte contre la douleur d’Ile-de-France.

Accord de prise en charge DPC et FIFPL en cours de demande